Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) - DILG-CAR Official Website

Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG)

After the successful run of the Seal of Good Housekeeping (SGH) by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) comes the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) or Pagkilala sa Katapatan at Kahusayan ng Pamahalaang Lokal. Said seal was launched on January 15, 2014 during the Good Governance Summit at the PICC in Manila.


DILG Secretary Mar Roxas said the SGLG, which originated from the SGH program in 2010, is introduced to provide greater challenge to our local governments to continue good governance practices while providing better services.


SGLG’s predecessor, the Seal of Good Housekeeping, only measured the levels of compliance to the Department’s Full Disclosure Policy, particularly in the areas of budget, revenues and procurement, among others, having no adverse COA findings, as well as meeting the requirements of anti-red tape act.


“Panahon na para itaas ang pamantayan ng good local governance mula sa balangkas ng matino at tapat na pangangasiwang pinansyal.Tunay na napakahalaga nito - ngunit kulang sa pagsukat ng kung ano ang makabuluhan para sa mamamayan,” said Roxas.


According to the DILG Secretary, a total of 1,372 LGUs or close to 84 percent of the total number of LGUs, have already met the minimum requirements of good housekeeping, which only shows their readiness to take on more challenges.


“Ibig sabihin, handa na ang karamihan ng mga LGUs para sa mas mataas at malawak na pamantayan ng good local governance,” he said.


With the introduction of the SGLG, Roxas said the DILG aims for a condition where LGUs do not only sustain the practice of accountability and transparency (Good Financial Housekeeping), but are also able to prepare for the challenges posed by disasters (Disaster Preparedness), and are sensitive to the needs of vulnerable and marginalized sectors of the society (Social Protection),” he said.


Moreover, the SGLG also drives LGUs to encourage investment and employment (Business-Friendliness and Competitiveness); protect the constituents from threats to life and security (Peace and Order); and safeguard the integrity of the environment (Environmental Management), he said.


For an LGU to become an SGLG recipient, an LGU needs to pass all the three core assessment areas – Good Financial Housekeeping, Social Protection and DisasterPreparedness, and at least one from the essential assessment areas – Business-Friendliness and Competitiveness, Peace & Order or Environmental Management.


LGUs meeting the minimum criteria shall not only be conferred with the SGLG, but will also entitle them to a package of incentives, such as the Performance Challenge Fund and access to other national performance-based programs.


For LGUs that do not make the mark, Roxas said the Department will provide capacity development interventions for them to help them earn the Seal.


“Walang iwanan.Tutulungan natin silang maiangat ang kakayahan ayon sa pamantayan ng SGLG sa pamamagitan ng capacity development assistance ng DILG at Local Government Academy,”he said.


To be implemented annually starting this year, the SGLG will cover all provinces, cities and municipalities.The DILG with partner organizations shall select qualified LGUs starting on the third quarter, while the awarding shall take place in October of each year.


“The SGLG symbolizes integrity and good performance of local governments.Let it be a continuing challenge for provincial, city and municipal governments to do better today and in the years to come,” said Roxas. ###


Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps