Pinukpuk - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Pinukpuk, Kalinga


Land Area (in Hectares): 74,356
Total Population*: 29,596
No. of Registered Voters**: 19,161
Income Class: 1ST CLASS
No. of Barangays: 23


History and Government



Before the Spanish era, the people in this once thickly forested area that is now Pinukpuk were warring tribes. The chieftains, “mengal” or “pangat” in the native dialect, were rulers of sub-tribes in small villages. Fierce fighting marked relations between these groups until the introduction of “bodong” or peace pact system. It was during this period that the area got its name Pinukpuk, which in the local vernacular meant “to strike with the use of bolo or any sharp weapon” in deference perhaps to the frequent feuds at that time.



In 1904, the American Lt. Governor of the sub-province of Kalinga, better known as “Sapao” among the people, arrived at Pinukpuk. He appointed the village chieftain as president whose help enabled him to convince the people to cooperate with him. A tribal chieftain by the name of Panabang was the first such president appointed by Sapao.



The municipality of Pinukpuk was only created as a regular municipality on June 25, 1963 with the seat of the municipal government established at Taga, Poblacion by virtue of Executive Order No. 42. Castro Lammawin was its first elected municipal mayor. He was succeeded by Francisco Dugayon from 1964 to 1967 followed by Pedro Dugas in 1968 to 1979, Fidel Dugayon from 1980 to 1981 and Nicasio Mamawag in 1981 to 1985.



Dominador Belac, Sr. served as Officer-in-charge from 1986 to 1988 and elected mayor in the 1988, 1992 and 1995 elections. In the hotly contested 1998 elections, Wilfredo Dugayon won as Pinukpuk’s 7th mayor.



The 23 barangays comprising the municipality are: Aciga, Allaguia, Ammacian, Apatan, Asibanglan, Ba-ay, Ballayangon, Bayao, Camalog, Catabbugan, Cawagayan, Dugpa, Limos, Magaogao, Malagnat, Mapaco, Pakawit, Pinococ, Pinukpuk Junction, Sucbot, Taga, Taggay, and Wagdu.


1 Aciga 753
2 Allaguia 1,607
3 Ammacian 1,526
4 Apatan 1,802
5 Asibanglan 1,058
6 Ba-ay 644
7 Ballayangon 1,458
8 Bayao 1,826
9 Camalog 848
10 Cawagayan 880
11 Dugpa 1,130
12 Katabbogan 1,682
13 Limos 843
14 Magaogao 803
15 Malagnat 1,690
16 Mapaco 852
17 Pakawit 999
18 Pinococ 683
19 Pinukpuk Junction 2,986
20 Socbot 1,287
21 Taga (Poblacion) 2,178
22 Taggay 1,025
23 Wagud 1,036


    *   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
    **  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC


Its Land



The municipality has a total land area of 69,410 has. that is bounded by the municipality of Balbalan on the west; Conner, Apayao on the north, Tabuk on the south, and the municipality of Rizal and partly by the municipality of Tuao, Cagayan on the east.



Upper Pinukpuk is mountainous, its irregular terrain provides for vast and thick forest growths between sporadic specks of settlements, while Lower Pinukpuk lies along the national highway which runs parallel to the Chico river. The Chico River meets the Saltan River from the upper stream in the southern boundary of the municipality.



The climate falls under Type III. Dry season occurs from December to April and wet or rainy season is from May to November. The municipality is frequently visited by typhoons, occurring from July to October.



Its Inhabitants



As per the 1995 Census of Population, Pinukpuk has a total population of 23,057 occupying 4,186 households. The leading causes of morbidity in the place are malaria, followed by fever, cough and colds, and skin allergies.


Its Economy


 A total of 7,055 hectares are devoted to agriculture. Almost 57% of the agricultural land is devoted to rice and corn. The municipality also produces vegetables, coffee and fruits like banana, mango and citrus. The people also engage in poultry and fishing as supplemental sources of livelihood.


Tourist Attractions and Places of Interest

  • The Bonnong Lakes
  • Asibanglan Lakes


By: DILG-CAR, Copyright 1999
Vol. I - Local Government Units

Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay