Lubuagan - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Lubuagan, Kalinga


Land Area (in Hectares): 23,420
Total Population*: 9,369
No. of Registered Voters**: 7,413
Income Class: 4TH CLASS
No. of Barangays: 9


History and Government


It is gleaned from oral traditions that the first inhabitants of Lubuagan were what are now known as Matu-un, Bantay and Pakac. The Uddok and Banutan, both Lubuagan tribal authorities on Kalinga culture were said to have recounted that Mabilong was their nest settlement.


Other settlers had recounted that the present site of Lubuagan used to be a swampy place full of mudholes. These mudholes are termed in the vernacular “Lubuangan” from which the entire area was named. However, when Lt. Gov. Walter Hale of the then subprovince of Kalinga established the subprovincial seat of the government at Lubuagan, he was said to have difficulty pronouncing the word “Lubuangan” and “Lubuagan” got stuck in his newly acquired Kalinga vocabulary, the official name which is retained to this day.


There are no available historical documents of Lubuagan’s history as a political unit before the Americans came, except for its being mentioned in Dr. Scott’s book, the “History of the Cordillera” that in 1908, Aguinaldo Hernaez led an expedition to Lubuagan to recruit laborers for a road construction between Abra and Cagayan. It is likewise noted in the book that Lubuagan was the seat of the first Philippine Republic for seventy-three days when Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo established his headquarters from March 6, 1900 to May 18,1900 at Lubuagan before continuing with his flight to Palanan, Isabela.


From 1901 to 1907, there was no organized local government unit in the area except for the presence of a company of constabulary men under the command of 1st Lt. Alex H. Gilfilan in Lubuagan. This company was not sent out to Lubuagan to organize a local government unit but to handle a hazardous pacification campaign among the so-called untamed aborigines of the hinterland. On March 4, 1907, Walter Hale was ordered by the Central Office in Manila to Kalinga. Arriving at Lubuagan on August 18, 1907, he organized the local government unit which comprised the three administrative settlements, namely: Lubuagan, Pinukpuk and Balbalan. Jose Alunday was appointed the first president of the administrative settlement of Lubuagan, who was succeeded by Pallayoc in later years.


On August 18, 1908, Jose Alunday was the president of the administrative settlement and was retained as municipal district president of Lubuagan by virtue of Act No. 1870. William Wailan of Pasil was the first elected municipal district president of Lubuagan administrative settlement after a a closely contested informal election.


By virtue of Proclamation No. 2918 of Gov. General Frank Murphy, Tanudan was separated from Lubuagan in May 1932 as a municipal district. On October 9, 1959, Lubuagan as well as the other municipal districts of the undivided Mountain Province, was made a 7th class municipality.


By operation of Republic Act No. 4741, Pasil was made a separate municipality out of Lubuagan and Balbalan. In April 1967, Republic Act No. 4695 created the province of Kalinga-Apayao with Tabuk as the provincial capital. Lubuagan therefore ceased to be the sub-provincial capital. Executive Order No. 42, issued on June 5, 1963, converted Lubuagan into a regular municipality.


Presently, Lubuagan has nine (9) barangays, namely: Poblacion, Antonio Canao, Dangoy, Mabilong, Abongtot, Tanglag, Lower Uma, Uma del Norte and Upper Uma.


1 Antonio Canao 965
 2 Dangoy 1,304
 3 Lower Uma 641
 4 Mabilong 1,327
5 Mabongtot 913
6 Poblacion 1,550
7 Tanglag 713
8 Uma del Norte (Western Luna Uma) 1,138
9 Upper Uma 818


    *   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
    **  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC


Elected mayor in the 1992 elections was Chester Alunday. He was followed by Cristeta Dugiang in 1995 while Johnny Dickpus is the present mayor after winning in the 1998 elections, whose term ends in 2001.


Its Land


Lubuagan is enclosed by the Cordillera Mountain Range. It is bounded by the municipality of Pasil on the north; the municipality of Tanudan on the east; the municipality of Tinglayan on the south and the province of Abra on the west.


The municipality has a total land area of 14,800 hectares having 1,568 hectares of alienable and disposable land and 13,232 hectares of forest land.   Its elevation is 800 meters above sea level and is generally mountainous or hilly, with steep slopes.


Like the other municipalities of the province, Lubuagan belongs to Type III of climate characterized by two seasons - dry and wet. Dry season is from January to late June while wet season is from June up to December.


Its Inhabitants


The 1995 Census of Population recorded a total of 9,897 inhabitants. There are 5,113 males and 4,784 females.


Its Economy


Farming being the major industry in the municipality, around 810 hectares are devoted to rice but drops to 759 hectares during dry season.


The area for white beans production is estimated to be 50 hectares during wet season increasing to 204.5 hectares during dry season. Coffee is one of the biggest cash crops in the locality.


By: DILG-CAR, Copyright 1999
Vol. I - Local Government Units

Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay