Mayoyao - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Mayoyao, Ifugao


Land Area (in Hectares): 23,805
Total Population*: 16,413
No. of Registered Voters**: 7,480
Income Class: 4TH CLASS
No. of Barangays: 27


History and Government



In the olden times, there was a couple named Wigan and Bugan who lived in Bawang, was a small valley with ricefields watered by natural springs, where people used to trade with the lowlands. Food and vegetables were abundant including anahaw trees. Due to the abundance of anahaw, especially on the western part, the plant's leaves together with rattan were made into raincoats called Innanga. Later, the people called the place Hananga due to the abundance of Innanga raincoat.



During the Spanish period, there lived a beautiful lady called May-ao in the western part of Bawang called Hewang. May-ao entertained people around her house in Hewang and so the people called the place May-ao, coined from the lady's name. May-ao in the native dialect means, "the place where food is found". Later on, for the sake of euphony, the place was called Mayoyao. 



Mayoyao was under Spanish control until the Philippine Revolution in 1896, and the subsequent defeat of Spain by the United States of America in 1898. It was during the Spanish Regime however that a trail was constructed from Kiangan to the Spanish Mayoyao Headquarters at Balangbang, Mayoyao.



When the Americans took over, they prioritized the building of roads and trails. It was also during this period in 1909 that a splendid trail was built from Banaue to Mayoyao.



In January 1942, the Japanese reached Ifugao. Col. John Horan, former commanding officer at Camp John Hay, Baguio City who was stationed at Mayoyao Headquarters, reorganized the disbanded army unit in Northern Luzon. He organized the 121st Infantry which included the Philippine Scouts and had complete control over Ifugao, Bontoc and Kalinga-Apayao when Bataan fell to the Japanese in 1942. Col. Horan only surrendered after the fall of Corregidor and the subsequent order of Gen. Jonathan Wainwright calling the surrender of all American and Filipino forces throughout the Philippines. Lt. Tumaliuan, however, and his men did not surrender to the Japanese. The incumbent mayor at the time, Mayor Santiago Balajo and Vice Mayor Atluna, joined the guerillas.



On September 18, 1942, a group of Japanese soldiers headed by Lt. Tokakora, based at Kiangan pushed to Mayoyao and were killed at Ducligan before reaching their destination at the headquarters in Balangbang, Mayoyao. The incident inflamed the Japanese who promptly sent strong punitive forces to Mayoyao. Unable to find the guerillas, the Japanese forces burned houses on October 28, 1942. The guerillas retreated to Damag where Capt. Manalo and Lt. Tumaluian put up their headquarters.



The Japanese reorganized the political set-up on January 1, 1943, designating Vice Mayor Atluna, who surrendered to the Japanese, as mayor while Mayor Santiago remained as an active guerilla.



After World War II, Vicente Gawongna, Sr. was elected mayor in 1944 to 1949. He was succeeded by Alfredo Panitio in 1950. Panitio was replaced by Federico Juguiad in 1953 to 1955. During Panitio's term, road reached the Poblacion. On December 1, 1955, a special election was held with Gaspar Ponchinlan elected as mayor. Ponchinlan held the position until 1963. Those who succeeded Ponchinlan were: John Langbayan (1964-1971), Romeo Lim-ang (1972-1975), John Piligan (1976-1977), Marcelo Homecgoy (1977-1979), Mario Chilagan (1980-1986), Salcedo Likiyan (1986-1987), Juanito Licnachan (1987), Mario Chilagan, Sr. (1988-1992), Rufino Guinid (1992-1995), Sanny Pelogna (1995-1998) and Rufina Guinid (1998 to 2001).


Mayoyao is presently politically subdivided into 27 barangays, namely: Aduyungan, Alimit, Ayangan, Balangbang, Banao, Banhal, Bato-alatbang, Bongan, Boninan, Chaya, Chumang, Epeng, Guinihon, Inwaloy, Langayan, Liwo, Maga, Magulon, Mapawoy, Mayoyao Proper, Mongol, Nalbu, Nattum, Palaad, Poblacion, Talboc and Tulaed.


1 Aduyongan 399
2 Alimit 453
3 Ayangan 502
4 Balangbang 1,315
5 Banao 485
6 Banhal 669
7 Bato-Alatbang 768
8 Bongan 608
9 Buninan 777
10 Chaya 870
11 Chumang 977
12 Epeng 442
13 Guinihon 457
14 Inwaloy 436
15 Langayan 516
16 Liwo 421
17 Maga 497
18 Magulon 433
19 Mapawoy 877
20 Mayoyao Proper 546
21 Mongol 313
22 Nalbu 477
23 Nattum 813
24 Palaad 361
25 Poblacion 1,047
26 Talboc 514
27 Tulaed 440


    *   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
    **  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC

Its Inhabitants


Based on the 1995 Census of Population, Mayoyao has a total population of 14,733, a total number of households of 2,959 with an average household size of 4.98 and a population growth rate of -8.7 based on the period 1990-1995.


Its Economy


Mayoyao is an agricultural municipality having 17,153 has. of land devoted to agriculture. The total agricultural land area is 47.11% of the total municipal land area of 36,413.73 has. The major crops being grown are palay, camote, corn, beans and gabi. Livestocks are also being raised such as swine, cow, carabao, goat, dog, horse, chicken, duck and turkey.


Tourist Attraction and Place of Interest

  • Mayoyao Rice Terraces



By: DILG-CAR, Copyright 1999
Vol. I - Local Government Units

Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay