Lamut - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Lamut, Ifugao


Land Area (in Hectares): 15,965
Total Population*: 23,088
No. of Registered Voters**: 12,432
Income Class: 4TH CLASS
No. of Barangays: 18



History and Government



During the early years of the 19th century, some Ilocano settlers from Nueva Vizcaya and the Ilocos Provinces occupied Mabatobato, a premier barangay of Lamut. Lamut then was a part of Kiangan. The settlers, attracted to the place due to the abundance of wildlife and fresh water fish, settled along the riverbanks and the nearby areas. Due to the abundance of wildlife, the place was later named Lamut, derived from the Ilocano term “ag-lamut”, meaning to eat.



When World War II broke out in 1941, Lamut was a refuge area of those from the neighboring towns and provinces. After the war, the refugees settled permanently in the place, increasing the population.



Lamut, formerly a barrio of Kiangan in the old Mountain Province, became a municipality on April 5, 1959 by virtue of Republic Act No. 2111. It was then composed of 4 barangays namely: Mabatobato, Payawan, Nayon and Panopdopan. The first appointed municipal mayor was Guinid Tuguinay who was later replaced by Alberto Puguon through a formal election held in November 1959 to December 1963. From January 1964 to December 1967, the municipal mayor was Alfredo Bunoan, Sr. He was succeeded by Angelito Guinid from January 1968 to November 24, 1976 who was in turn succeeded by Gregorio Kitong who was appointed as municipal mayor. Kitong served until January 1980.



The EDSA Revolution in 1986 brought about changes resulting in incumbent municipal officials being replaced by appointed ones. Mayor Kitong was replaced by Lynda Chaguile acting as Officer-In-Charge. Mayor Chaguile served two terms, winning on January 25, 1988 and again on May 11, 1992 and holding the post until 1998. From 1998 to 2001, the mayoralty post is being held by Angelito Guinid.



Lamut is presently subdivided into 18 barangays, namely: Ambasa, Bimpal, Hapid, Jolowon, Lawig, Lucban, Mabatobato, Magulon, Nayon, Ponopdopan, Payawan, Pieza, Poblacion East, Poblacion West, Pugol, Salamague, Sanafe and Umilag.


1 Ambasa 740
2 Bimpal 1,330
3 Hapid 1,504
4 Holowon 738
5 Lawig 1,458
6 Lucban 870
7 Mabatobato (Lamut) 1,905
8 Magulon 1,145
9 Nayon 1,094
10 Panopdopan 963
11 Payawan 1,473
12 Pieza 700
13 Poblacion East
14 Poblacion West 2,637
15 Pugol
16 Salamague 769
17 Sanafe 1,173
18 Umilag 868


    *   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
    **  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC



Its Land



Lamut is located in the southeastern portion of Ifugao, generally situated in gradually rolling plains. It is located about 27 kilometers away from Lagawe, the capital town of Ifugao. The national road traverses the municipality on a north-south direction from Lagawe to the province of Nueva Vizcaya. The eastern portion of the municipality is bounded by the Ibulao and Nayon Rivers. On the western part, the municipality is bounded by the municipality of Kiangan.



Lamut's terrain is generally is rough and rugged and basically mountainous with rivers and creeks. Among the municipality's bodies of water are: Lamut River, Ibulao River, Nayon River, Jolowon Creek, Monggonga-a Creek, Pugol Creek, Dilan, Baat, Kinawayanan and Nabila-an. The climate is characterized by a short dry season from December to June and a long wet season from July to November. The average annual rainfall is 97 mm. and typhoon frequency is 8 to 10 per annum.



The municipality's total land area of 14,581.25 hectares has a land use classification as follows: Residential - 3,484.92 has., Institutional - 199.76 has., Commercial - 37.91 has., Roads/Right of Way - 701.36 has., Agricultural - 10,094.6 has. and Rivers, Creeks, Others - 62.7 has. Among the barangays, Payawan is he largest with 2,031 has. while Poblacion East is the smallest with 247.16 has.


Its Inhabitants


The inhabitants of Lamut are a mixture of Ifugao and Ilocano settlers. The Ilocano settlers came from Nueva Vizcaya and the Ilocos provinces and occupied barangay Mabatobato. After World War II, many people from the neighboring towns and provinces took refuge in Lamut and eventually settled here.


Lamut has a total population of 17,081, a total household of 3,312 with an average household size of 5.16 and a population growth rate of 3.66% covering the years 1990-1995.


Its Economy


The municipality is an agricultural community with its agricultural land classified as follows: Vegetable Land - 165.20 has., Rice and Corn Land - 2,099.00 has., Alienable & Disposable Land - 7,834.90 has. and Forest Land - 7,535.10 has. The main crops are palay and corn. Area planted to palay is 1,466 has. with only 597 has. irrigated and 869 has. rainfed. Area planted to corn is 633 has. with white corn taking 50 has. and yellow corn taking 583 has. Other crops include vegetables (90.2 has.), root crops (62 has.), fruits (524 has.), food grains (7 has.) and other crops (8 has.). Livestocks are also raised such as cattle, carabao, swine, goat, chicken, ducks and dogs. Fish produce includes tilapia, catfish, mudfish and native shrimps.


Industries in the municipality are mostly cottage industries which include furniture making, woodcarving, basketry and loomweaving. There are also at least 185 business establishments in the municipality, including retail stores, eateries/restaurants, repair shops, rice mill, furniture shops, beauty parlors and gasoline station.


By: DILG-CAR, Copyright 1999
Vol. I - Local Government Units

Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay