Pudtol - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Pudtol, Apayao

Land Area (in Hectares): 40,102
Total Population*: 13,305
No. of Registered Voters**: 6,738
Income Class: 4TH CLASS
No. of Barangays: 22


History and Government


Old folks says that a pregnant native woman had an abortion upon hearing the sound of the newly installed bell in the church built by the Spaniards. Angered, the Mandayas later known as Isnegs, beheaded the priest of that church. In 1608, another group of Spanish missionaries arrived to establish a foothold in Apayao. When the missionaries asked about the name of their place, the natives thinking that they were asking what happened to the priest, replied “Putol” which in their dialect meant “beheaded”. Thereafter, the missionaries recorded the name and used it in their communications and transactions.


Much later, a group of Ibanags settled in the place but pronounced “Putol” to “Futol” which was later corrupted by the Ilocanos to “Pudtol”. That was how Pudtol got its name.


The present day Pudtol is the remnant of the Old Municipal District of Tawit, which existed since August 13, 1908. The Municipal District of Tawit comprised the territories of the present day municipalities of Luna, Flora, Sta. Marcela and Pudtol, and some part of Allacapan and Lasam in the province of Cagayan. The seat of government then was at Barrio Tawit (the present Barangays of Malibang, Matanguisi, Aga and Cacalaggan).


On December 3, 1929, the Municipal District of Pudtol was created by virtue of Executive Order No. 217 signed by President Ramon Magsaysay, inheriting all territories left of the old Municipal District of Tawit after the organization of the Municipal District of Luna.


In February 1957, the first set of appointed municipal officials of Pudtol were inducted into office. Emilia Almasan was the municipal mayor. On March 31, 1959, President Carlos Garcia signed Executive Order No. 335 converting the municipal district of Pudtol into a regular municipality making it the first municipality in Kalinga and Apayao to attain such status. On June 22, 1963, the municipality of Flora was created by virtue of Republic Act 3672 to comprise the eastern barangays of Pudtol, thereby reducing Pudtol to its present size.


From 1960 to 1963, Juan Madriaga was elected as the mayor, followed by Antonio Jadsac who was appointed from 1963 to 1980. Domingo Agngarayngay was appointed from 1980 to 1986, succeeded by Robert Bangay, who was appointed from August, 1986 to November 30, 1987; then from December 6, 1987 to February 1, 1988, Russel Caluducan was appointed as mayor. Batara Laoat won in the 1988 and 1992 elections. Presently, the incumbent mayor elected in 1998 is Johnny Ilayat.


The twenty-two barangays of Pudtol are as follows: Aga, Alem, Cabatacan, Cacalaggan, Capannikian, Lower Maton, Malibang, Mataguisi, Poblacion, San Antonio (Pugo), Swan, Upper Maton, Amado, Aurora, Doña Loreta, Emilia, Imelda, Lt. Bilag, Lydia, San Jose, San Luis, and San Mariano.


 1 Aga 276
 2 Alem 875
 3 Amado 791
 4 Aurora 296
 5 Cabatacan 1,313
 6 Cacalaggan 405
 7 Capanikkian 1,192
 8 Doña Loreta 711
 9 Emilia 427
 10 Imelda 552
 11 Lower Maton 345
 12 Lt. Bilag 176
 13 Lydia 529
 14 Malibang 472
 15 Mataguisi 807
 16 Poblacion 836
 17 San Antonio 171
 18 San Jose 361
 19 San Luis 683
 20 San Mariano 463
 21 Swan 1,253
 22 Upper Maton


    *   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
    **  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC

Its Land


Pudtol’s land area is approximately 238.9 square kilometers. It is bounded on the east by Flora and Kabugao on its south and west.


Its Inhabitants


Based on the 1995 census count, the municipality has a population of 8,656. This registered an increase of just 23 persons over the 1980 population count of 7598. Large portion of the population is concentrated in the lower barangays of the municipality.


Its Economy


Pudtol has 11,159.03 hectares classified for agricultural cultivation and human settlement. However, forest lands are slowly being converted into agricultural lands producing rice, citrus, corn, vegetables and fruits that are available in the lower barangays while natural resources are as available in the upper barangays.


Other industries in the place are food processing, manufacturing like plyboo making, furniture, basketry, stuffed/wooden toy making, blacksmithing and housewares making.


Boating along the Apayao River is also an additional source of income for the people.


Tourist Attractions and Places of Interest

  • Nagan River
  • Lizardo Brooks
  • Maton Subterranean River
  • Agora Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Spanish Church
  • Spanish Ruins
  • Swan Ogee Dam
  • NPC Tunnels located at Ginned


By: DILG-CAR, Copyright 1999
Vol. I - Local Government Units

Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay