Tubo - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Tubo, Abra


Land Area (in Hectares): 40,987
Total Population*: 5,719
No. of Registered Voters**: 3,561
Income Class: 4TH CLASS
No. of Barangays: 10

History and Government


According to legend, the people of the municipality of Tubo originated from a single tribe known as the Maeng Tribe. The Maeng people came from a brother and sister couple named May-eng and Mayang who survived a great universal flood that destroyed all communities, fields and most living creatures. Many years passed and the offsprings of May-eng and Mayang multiplied and scattered in search of sources of livelihood. The scattering gave rise to many communities, among them Lobo, Pesa, Kasangan, Kawangi, Balikwey, Tiking, Bacnono, Dataan, Maeng, Nomococan, Teeb, Tubo, Baococ, Becac and Pakya. It is from these communities that the present 10 barangays of the municipality are formed. The barangays are: Alangtin, Amtuagan, Dilong, Kili, Mayabo, Sopo, Tabacda, Tiempo, Tub-tuba and Wayangan.


During the long years of Spanish Occupation, the Maeng Tribe never recognized the foreign government established. It only yielded to the American government by giving honey wax in lieu of the P2.00 residential tax imposed on them.


Before World War II, Tubo was composed of two districts called Tiempo and Tubo. On August 18, 1965, President Ferdinand Marcos approved into law Executive Order No. 164. The Order merged the two districts to form the municipality of Tubo.


Those who became chief executives of the municipality were: Anaas Infiel (1936-1940), Alfredo Pioig (1940-1944), Callibag La-i (1944-1948), Juan Antonio (1948-1952), Alfredo Waay (1952-1956), Pascasio Cay-an (1956-1960), Luis Gefferson (1960-1964), Juan Antonio (1964-1968), Lorenzo Dangatan (1968-1972), Domingo Gassil (1972-1979), Alfredo Pioig (1979-1983), Lorenzo Cagod (1983-1986), Jose Segundo (1986-1992) and Solomon Wagyen (1992-1998). At present, the municipality is headed by Mayor Jose Segundo.


Its Land


Tubo is located at the southern part of Abra with an approximate distance of 57.93 km. away from the capital town of Bangued. It is bounded on the north by the municipalities of Luba and Boliney, on the east by the province of Kalinga, on the south by Mt. Province and on the west by the province of Ilocos Sur. It has a total municipal land area of 42,390 has. occupying 10% of the total provincial land area. In terms of land area, Tubo is the third largest municipality in the province. The municipality could be reached by vehicle only through two entry points. One is through the Tagudin, Ilocos Sur Road passing through the historic Bessang Pass in Cervantes, Ilocos Sur ending in barangay Dilong. The other route is through the road coming from the capital town of Bangued passing through the municipalities of PeƱarrubia, Bucay, Manabo and Luba ending at the Poblacion.


The municipality's terrain is characterized by high mountain ranges traversed by rivers which are tributaries to the Abra River. These are the Damanil,Utip and Dilong rivers. These rivers are the main source of irrigation for the municipality and are also potential sources of hydro-electric power.


Tubo's total land area is 42,390 has. distributed among its 10 barangays. Among the barangays, Tabacda has the largest land area with 6,782.40 has. while the smallest is Wayangan with 3,052.08 has. Tubo's land is classified as: residential - 37.16 has., institutional - 14.77 has., agricultural - 7,858 has., and forestland - 34,479.74 has. Forest reservations are located at barangays Amtuagan, Tabacda, Kili, Alangtin and Tub-tuba with estimated volume of forest products at 1,800 cubic meters of rattan and 16,200 cubic meters of assorted timber woods.


 1 Alangtin 650
 2 Amtuagan 494
 3 Dilong 818
 4 Kili 426
 5 Poblacion (Mayabo) 582
 6 Supo 732
 7 Tabacda 246
 8 Tiempo 800
 9 Tubtuba 491
 10 Wayangan 480
*   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
**  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC



Mineral deposits found in the municipality are gold, copper, silver and coal as proven by drillings conducted by the Benguet Corporation and the Marcopper Company.


Its Inhabitants


The residents of Tubo are indigenous people belonging to the Tinguian Tribe with Itneg as their dialect.


In 1980, Tubo had a population of 4,985. Comparing it with the population of 1990 which was 4,589, there was a decrease of 396. The decrease was due to the migration of some people to other places because of the municipality's insurgency problems. On the 1995 Census of Population, Tubo's population again decreased to 4,344, a total number of households of 813 with an average household size of 5.34 and a population growth rate of -1.02% covering the year 1990-1995.


Its Economy


Of the municipality's total agricultural land area of 7,858 has., 804 has. are cropland, 304 has. are fishery areas, 3,450 has. are for raising livestocks and pasturelands while the remaining 3,300 has. is considered idle lands. Cropland of 804 has. is planted to palay, diversified crops and tree farms or orchards. Palay is the main crop with two cropping seasons a year. Majority of the land planted to palay is irrigated. In addition to farming, livestocks are also being raised as source of additional income to the families. Among the livestocks being raised are: cattle, carabao, poultry, goats, dogs and swine. Business establishments operating in the area are limited only to sari-sari stores and the like.



By: DILG-CAR, Copyright 1999
Vol. I - Local Government Units
Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay