San Juan - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of San Juan, Abra


Vice Mayor:
Land Area (in Hectares):
Total Population*:
No. of Registered Voters**:
Income Class:
No. of Barangays:

History and Government


The town of San Juan was once a Tinguian place belonging to the Inlaud Tribe. The natives were believed to have come from Indonesia. Before the coming of the Spaniards, the natives were believed to have traded with the Indo-Chinese. They were believed to have bartered with the Indo-Chinese as evidenced by the presence of antique jars, big bowls, gongs, arrows and shields, beads, jewels and gems.


The first man to inhabit the place was a man named Ganagan. He was born at Nagbayogan and he had brothers named Omnas and Pongdasan. He was married to Agawa, the sister of Lobigay and Ligaya from a neighboring place called Agpara. He left home and lived independently as his family and descendants grew in number.


During the Spanish Regime, the church was established and many of the people got baptized as Christians. The Spaniards named the place San Juan.


During the year 1907 to 1929, San Juan was a barrio of Dolores. By virtue of a bill of the Philippine Legislature sponsored by then Representative Quintin Paredes, San Juan became a municipality. The new municipality was inaugurated on February 28, 1929.


Those who became leaders of San Juan are as follows: Teniente Mayors during the Spanish Regime: Ganagan, Colabaoan, Samao, Dao-aguey, Baguian, Labanen, Pengpeng, Tagabeng, Madoli, Labao, Picong, Gumidam and Samlat. Cabesa de Barangay were: Masaoay, Labao, Samlat, Masileg, Pattolit, Guitoc, Bocao, Dumaguing, Lalugan, Garao and Picong. Cabesa de Barangay during the aggrupation in 1882: Deggay de Colabaoan, Cirilo de Ayala, Gayyed, Eblogan, Bagani, Palangdao de Licuan, Sagasag de Culliong, Sabug de Lacub, Agabas de Abualan, Lumacday de Lacub, Sagibo de Alawa, Garao de Lanec, Guellaban de Agsimao, Palangdao de Caganayan, Siblao de Pang-ot, Tungad de Calambat, Ito de Bai, Batoy de Agsimao, Bonao de Dumagadag, Quidaoen de Bandi and Bogeng de Bandi. Barrio Lieutenants after the Spanish-American War were: Bernardo Bay-on, Siwao, Dacuyan, Bessat, Maximo Talingdan, Panganiban, Basilio Montorio, Cosme Bosque, Roman Blanza, Bagani, Agudin Collaban, Agoncillo and Pallas. During the American Regime from 1884-1906 the local leaders were: Juan Tangiday, Aggalao, Luis Mariano Llaneza, Pedro Balmaceda, Timoteo, Rafael Gulam Lucas and Agaton Alzate.


From 1907 to 1929, San Juan was a barrio of Dolores. San Juan was separated from Dolores thru the initiative of Manuel Magala, then Vice Mayor of Dolores, with the help of Quintin Paredes. From 1929 those who became mayors were: Primitivo Rioja (1929-1931), Gregorio Saygo Taverner (1931-1934), Manuel Magala (1934-1937), Baltazar Eduarte (1937-1940), Toribio Lazo (1940-1944), Isidro Taverner (1944), Marcos Guzman (1945), Severino Ta-a (1945-1947), Gregorio Taverner (1948-1951), Gregorio Brillantes (1952-1955), Gregorio Taverner (1956-1959), Gregorio Taverner (1960-1963), Paulo Biscarra (1964), Gabriel Buentipo (1964-1969), Agustin Balaoro (1969-1972), Eustaquio Padaoil, Sr. (1972-1973), Pedro Barbero (1973-1978), Crispulo Barbero (1979-1985), Magdalena Bautista (1986-1992) and Nonito Barbero (1992-1998). Medel Taverner won in the 1998 election to serve until 2001.


At present, San Juan is politically subdivided into 19 barangays, namely: Abualan, Baug, Badas, Cabcaburao, Colabaoan, Culliong, Daoidao, Guimba, Lam-ag, Lumobang, Nangobongan, Pattaoig, Poblacion North, Poblacion South, Quidaoen, Sabangan, Sillet, Tagaytay and Supiil.


 1 Abualan  885
 2 Badas 463
 3 Ba-ug 1,104
 4 Cabcaburao 1,032
 5 Colabaoan 295
 6 Culiong 483
 7 Daoidao 152
 8 Guimba 369
9 Lam-ag 546
10 Lumobang 363
11 Nangobongan 393
12 Pattaoig 122
13 Poblacion North 980
14 Poblacion South 542
15 Quidaoen 679
16 Sabangan 244
 17 Silet 495
18 Supi-il 680
19 Tagaytay 719
*   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
**  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC


Its Land


San Juan is located on the central northeastern part of the province bounded on the north by the municipality of Tineg, on the northeast by the municipality of Lacub, on the east by the municipality of Lagangilang, on the west by the municipality of Lagayan and on the south by the municipality of Dolores.


The municipality has a total land area of 7,250 has. distributed to hilly mountainous ranges, arable plains and valleys crisscrossed by the Malanas and Tineg Rivers. Among its barangays, Baug has the largest land area with 124.23 has. while Sabangan has the smallest with 27.51.


Its Inhabitants


Based on the 1995 Census of Population, San Juan has a population of 8,461 with a total number of households of 1,694 with an average income of 4.99 and a population growth rate of 0.04 covering the year 1990-1995. Among the barangays, Cabcaburao is the most populated with 965 and having the most number of households with 200. Pattaoig is the least populated with 86 and having the least number of households with 14.


Tourist Attraction and Place of Interest

  • Malanas Dam


By: DILG-CAR, Copyright 1999
Vol. I - Local Government Units

Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay