Luba - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Luba, Abra


Land Area (in Hectares):
Total Population*: 6,391
No. of Registered Voters**:
Income Class: 5TH CLASS
No. of Barangays: 8

History and Government


The first people of Luba were Tinguians belonging to the Maeng Tribe, considered the biggest tribe in the Cordillera. The places within the municipality of Luba where the early people settled were Tayab, Caonoan, Pasungan, Sasabtan and Cappini. As the number of people increased, the settlers spread to nearby places. Those who first occupied Caonoan moved to Lao-ingen, Nagbukel and Tukipa. The settlers of Pasungan moved to Gayaman while the early settlers of Sasabtan and Cappini occupied Luzong and Barit. Other places were also occupied by the early settlers such as Sabnangan, Bangcagan and later on including Ampalioc, Pacpaca, Tabangao, Banao-ao Pega and Agumanay.


Luba was first called Barit-Amtuagan, because Amtuagan was then a part of the place. Later, the name was changed Barit-Lulluno because another district, Tiempo, claimed Amtuagan to be its part. From the first two letters of the words Barit and Lulluno, Balu became the name of the place.


Lulluno got its name from the word "rono" or "lono", a plant prevalent during the early times. Gayaman got its name when during the consecration of the place, a large centipede, gayaman in the dialect, crawled around the place prompting the people who witnessed the event to name the place Gayaman. Bangcagan got its name from the settlers of Sabnangan who after crossing the Abra River had to go up or "bumangcag" in the local dialect. Luzong was so called because of its appearance. It is a valley surrounded by hills. During heavy rains, the place easily flooded looking like a lake.


The first seat of government of the municipality was Luzong. Later on in the early part of 1920 during the term of Apo Caoatig, then President of Luba, the seat of government was transferred to Bangcagan. Bangcagan was chosen because of its centrality.


When the place became a regular municipality, the name was changed to its present name, Luba, actually the syllabic reverse of Balu.


The past to present chief executives of Luba are the following: Padaoil, Tonnosan, Tawali, Salingbay, Bumaksa, Cabildo, Sannadan, Waclinen (1912-1914), Baddongen (1915-1917), Caoatig Valera (1918-1920), Bagwang II (1921-1923), Modesto Gayyed (1924-1926), Sumingwa Segundo (1927-1929), Pedro John (1930-1932), Paned Segundo (1933-1936), Bayyong (1937-1940), Saoadan Cardenas (1941-1943), Sabukil Patricio (1944-1945), Pedro John (1945-1947), Antonio Biscarra (1948-1955), Silvino Siblon (1955), Benjamin Llanes (1956-1959), Silvino Siblon (1960-1963), Angel Belega (1964-1967), Mariano Agosto (1968-1980), Tomas Domingo (1980-1983), Amogaoen Kisip (1983-1986), Casimiro Gayyed (1986-1998) and at present Gregorio Sayen.


Luba has 8 barangays: Ampalioc, Barit, Gayaman, Lulluno, Luzong, Nagtuquipa, Poblacion and Sabnangan.


1 Ampalioc 1,177
2 Barit 572
3 Gayaman 1,020
4 Lul-luno 379
5 Luzong 920
6 Nagbukel-Tuquipa 534
7 Poblacion 1,128
8 Sabnangan 661
*   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
**  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC


Its Land


Approximately 52 km. away from the capital town of Bangued, Luba has a total land area of 20,850.0572 has. Its existing land use include: brushland - 4,649 has., alienable and disposable - 3,532 has., agricultural land - 4,415 has., open grassland - 2,110 has., pastureland - 1,904 has. and forest land - 4,240 has. Among the 8 barangays, Gayaman is the largest in land area with 4,001.1448 has. while Lulluno is the smallest with 1,531.2659 has. Land area of the other barangays are: Ampalioc - 3,756.6016 has., Barit - 1,535.0358 has., Luzong - 1,743.7268 has., Nagtuquipa - 3,206.5172 has. and Poblacion - 3,944.2902 has.


On natural resources, Luba's forests are rich in timber and wild animals. Among its timber are narra, molave, red and white lawan and rattan. Wild animals include wild deer, wild pig and wild chicken. Mineral resources include gold and silver.


Its Inhabitants


The native inhabitants of Luba are Tinguians belonging to the Maeng Tribe. With the coming of immigrants, some parts of Luba became their settlements. Among them are Barit and Tabangao.


Based on the 1995 Census of Population, Luba had a population of 5,559, a total number of households of 1,111 with an average household size of 5 and a negative population growth rate of 0.01% covering the year 1990-1995.


Its Economy


With a total agricultural land area of 4,415 has., only 797 has. are being cultivated. Farming is the main source of livelihood with palay as the main crop. Other crops include corn, peanut, beans, tobacco, rootcrops and ginger. Fruit trees are mango and coconut. Livestock animals are also being raised among them carabao, cattle, poultry, horse, swine and goat. Besides farming, other activities include fishery, mining and cottage industries. Cottage industries make use of raw materials such as bamboo, buho, rattan, wood, banban and tigergrass. Business establishments operating in the municipality are 31 ricemills, 58 sari-sari stores and 2 multipurpose cooperatives.


Tourist Attractions and Places of Interest

  • Palayan ng Bayan
  • Banaao Lake
  • Daddao Underground Brook


Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay