Danglas - DILG-CAR Official Website

Municipality of Danglas, Abra


Land Area (in Hectares):
Total Population*: 4,734
No. of Registered Voters**:
Income Class: 5TH CLASS
No. of Barangays: 7

History and Government


Danglas was formerly called "Padayog", a Tinguian term for cradle. It was later on given the name Danglas presumably after barangay Danglas in the northernmost portion of the municipality.


It was said that in the area, "dangla" plants which which were excellent as firewood grew in abundance. It was customary in the place for people to gather around a bonfire in the morning to warm themselves from the cold climate. The people usually burned dried dangla woods for the purpose.


One morning, while the people were gathered around a bonfire warming themselves, the Spaniards came. One of the Spaniards asked what the woods being burned were. One of the old men around the fire bending himself down to fix the firewood, answered, "dangla", with an ended tail sound of "as..." because the smoke from the burning wood irritated his eyes. The Spaniards repeated the word. Thereupon, the name Danglas came into being.


When Abra was separated from Ilocos Sur in 1846, the elderly folks recalled that among the first able leaders to govern the municipality were Ruedo, Callibag, Cadangyao, Gettap, Cayabo and Balao-as. It is to be noted that Tinguians before the Spanish Colonization had only a single name. The first seat of government then was located in Danglas, Danglas.


In 1902, Danglas was established into a township. Among the early leaders during the time were Balit, Gadgad, Bilaneg, Sibayan, Cayabo, Damase, Layugan, Malangen and Baingan.


Danglas became a municipal district in 1921 and was raised to a regular municipality in 1937 with Agcalis as its first president. The first seat of government at Danglas, Danglas was later transferred to barangay Caupasan. When Mayor Braulio Abbago assumed office, he transferred the seat of government from Caupasan Proper to sitio Dumegiuay where the Abra-Ilocos Norte Road pass through. Upon the assumption into office of Mayor Wilmer Borbon, the town hall was established at Cabaruan. The town hall is presently located in this barangay traversed by the Abra-Ilocos Norte Road.


The list of municipal chief executives of the municipality are: during the Spanish Rule - Ruedo, Callibag, Cadangyao, Gettap, Cayabo and Balao-as; during the American Period - Balit, Gadagad, Bilaneg, Sibayan, Cayabo, Damasen, Layugan, Malangen, Bainga, Gabbat Abbago, Santiago Abbago, Agawayaoay Pascua and Premero Agcalis; during the Philippine Republic - Antonio Ocampo, Tomas Baoalan, Doroteo Abboc (1948-1953), Jose Alita (1954-1968), Braulio Abbago (1969-1980), Lorenzo Balao-as (1981-1986), Wilmer Borbon (1986-1995) and Jojo Borbon (1998 to present).


Presently, the municipality is politically subdivided into 7 barangays, namely: Nagaparan, Danglas, Abaquid, Pangal, Padangitan, Caupasan and Cabaruan.

 1 Abaquid 423
 2 Cabaruan 650
 3 Caupasan (Poblacion) 1,398
 4 Danglas 479
 5 Nagaparan 819
 6 Padangitan 502
 7 Pangal 463


    *   - 2010 NSO Census of Population
    **  - 2010 Partial Data from COMELEC

Its Land


Danglas, having a land area of 17,209 has., occupies the northwestern portion of the province of Abra. It is a landlocked municipality bounded on the north by the province of Ilocos Norte and the municipality of Lagayan, on the west by the province of Ilocos Sur, on the south by the municipalities of Bangued and La Paz. The municipality is 13.97 km. away from the capital town of Bangued isolated by the Abra River. From La Paz it is 7.92 km. while from Lagayan, it is 12.85 km.


Climate in the locality is characterized by two distinct seasons - the wet and the dry. The dry season which occurs from November to April is characterized by blue skies and clear starry nights while the wet season occurs from July to October with an abundance of rainfall accompanied by storms and typhoons.


The terrain of the municipality is extremely rugged with mountains and hills arising along the north, west and east periphery accounting for the practically non-existent extensive arable plains. The municipality is only accessible by land transportation.


On natural resources, the municipality boasts of forest lands which is a repository of a myriad of forest products, notably timber, wild animals such as deer and wild pigs, minerals mostly non-metallic such as limestone, sand, gravel, clay, cement raw materials and rattan.


Its Inhabitants


Based on the census of population in 1995, Danglas has a total population of 4,285, a household total of 712 with an average household size of 6.02 and a population growth rate of 6.63% (1990-1995).


Its Economy


Its main source of livelihood is agriculture having an agricultural land of 1,818 has. out of the municipality's total land area of 15,200 has. Of the 1,818 has. classified as agricultural, however, only 539 has. are being cultivated. The main crop is palay. Secondary sources of livelihood are livestock raising, fish culture and cottage industries making use of available raw materials such as rattan, wood and bamboo.


Tourist Attractions and Places of Interest

  • Mapaso Hot Spring
  • Nagaparan Cave


Mandatory Biometrics
Voter Registration

>Campaign Toolkit

>Streamer (Ilocano)
>Streamer (Tagalog)
>Streamer (English)
>Campaign Videos and
 CAR Geohazard Maps
Land Area (sq. Km.): 19,611.10
Population (2010): 1,616,867
No.of Registered Voters: 832,131
No.of Provinces: 6
No.of Municipalities: 75
No.of HUCs: 1 (Baguio)
No.of Component Cities: 1 (Tabuk)
No.of Barangays: 1,176
Legal Basis of Creation: EO 220
Date of Creation: 07/15/1987
Barangay Best Practices
Barangay Dashboard
Barangay Election FAQs
Kapehan sa Barangay
2013 Halalang Pambarangay